Daily Archives: April 6, 2011

Etsy Virtual Bridal Show: Decor

Welcome to the Etsy Virtual Bridal Show with links for readers to donate to Wish Upon a Wedding.

Wish Upon a Wedding is a nonprofit 501 (c) (3) organization that provides weddings and vow renewals to couples facing terminal illness or other serious life-altering circumstances, regardless of sexual orientation. Often, couples facing such situations do not have the energy, time, money, or resources needed to plan their wedding. Our organization takes care of all the details, offering couples a chance to relax and enjoy a very special day while surrounded by the love of their closest family and friends.” -www.wishuponawedding.org

Legalities:
While I am a volunteer with Wish Upon a Wedding, Parties by Kristen is not affiliated with Wish Upon a Wedding in any other capacity and is not an official representative of Wish Upon a Wedding. In addition, Parties by Kristen is not affiliated with Etsy or the vendors featured and is not an official representative of Etsy or of each of these vendors. I am simply a fan of these artists/vendors and a volunteer with a passion for what I do and for organizations I have chosen to donate my time and finances to. I have sought permission from each and every vendor featured to use their products and their photos. Please do not use these photos for personal gain or copy the designs presented. These products are the livelihood, passion, and intellectual property of each artist and to copy these items or to use them for person gain is both illegal and unethical.

The first shop in this category is Floratouch. Floratouch makes beautiful table runners and overlays to spice up your tables. “This seller was super quick, and the table runners were gorgeous. I was looking for the perfect design for my cousin’s french-themed bridal shower…these table runners are definitely it! The craftsmanship is wonderful. My husband saw me open them, and he begged me to not give them away to the bride!! Thank you!”

Next we have Inspirational Elegance. “I love designing and creating so in between the school pick-ups, voice and dance lessons, birthday parties, homework, school pick-ups. . . ad infinitum…I have reached past the Cheerios, Captain Crunch and movie-theater popcorn, wiped off the 12” layer of dust on the now barely-recognizable box . . . taken out one or two dreams and . . . am now creating things of beauty…” “I received my fans and bouquet today and they are amazing!!! I love them and am so excited about using them for my wedding in July. Ivyndell has truly been a pleasure to work with and has been very professional, I appreciate it so very much and will definitely order from her again!”

Our next shop is Henna Swirls, “a shop devoted to unique and one of a kind designs hand painted freehand with HENNA. Custom orders are welcome.” “WOW!!! I don’t even know what to say – first of all, I was contacted by the seller immediately after making the purchase, she offered to customize the candle set, made it promptly, and shipped it super quick. She emailed me along the way so I knew the status. When I received it, we were TRULY blown away. Amazing and artistic and beautiful. I am certain this will be a conversation piece at our wedding!”

You may recognize Bragging Bags from the Littlest Attendants section of the show. Bragging Bags has so many great rustic chic decor items, that I had to feature the shop here as well. “I love love love everything!!!! Everything is made perfectly! It was a pleasure dealing with you! Thank you!!”

Our next shop, Ay Mujer (featured in April’s BRIDE magazine), brings me back to my childhood growing up in San Diego and going to Old Town for Dia de los Muertos. The bright colors, the beauty of hand cut papel picado always brings a smile to my face. Yreina’s designs and skill with the delicate tissue paper are some of the best I have ever seen. “The first paper cuttings I made were illustrations for a hand-bound photography book. Soon after, I taught myself how to cut papel picado. It has taken me years to learn how to design my beautiful patterns. It is a challenge to create & cut an image that will be graceful, strong and readable when hung. Tissue paper is so delicate; if the image isn’t strong enough it will flop and droop when the flags are mid-air. And yet if I don’t cut enough detail, the flag’s design will be clunky and hard to read.” “Incredible seller (artist). The papels are so delicate – and they obviously took an incredible amount of skill and talent to make! Great friendly communication. Thank you so much, we’ll send pictures of the wedding!”

Shabulous Creations says, “As an Atlanta born artist, I redefine unwanted cast-offs as well as unusual household items and turn them into vibrant illuminations! I have refurbished and restored several chandeliers and lamps and have given them a funky chic face-lift. These items include electric chandeliers, candle chandeliers, candle holders, pendent lamps, teeny chandeliers, table lamps, and even night lights. I am also a master at turning ordinary items into the ultra extraordinary. The end result is always 100% shabulous!” “Really loved the crystal wall sconce she custom made for my daughters room! It was more than what I expected. They are beautiful! Also, great customer service and always replied at a timely manner. Thanks! I will keep her in my favorites!” What a great way to decorate your reception venue (especially the hanging chandeliers from inside a tent)!

I happen to adore glass and Sea of Glass‘ wares are perfect to use for centerpieces for a rustic, vintage, or beach themed wedding. “Antique Bottles … Home Decor … Hand-Made Jewelry … Wedding Centerpieces … Sea Glass …Where does our glass come from? Read our Glass-hunting BLOG: http://www.glasstracker.blogspot.com. “These jars were gorgeous; the seafoam colour of the glass is wonderful, shipping was fast, and the seller was extremely helpful.”

Shabby McFabby says, “I use only the very highest quality restaurant grade chalkboard vinyl available on the market. Each piece is hand applied to a brand new piece of masonite board and/or sheet metal or back of mirrors. All chalkboards and memo boards are hand-finished.” “I absolutely love my shabby black board! It’s simply lovely, and just what I was seeking as a menu board for my upcoming shabby chic vintage wedding. Excellent customer service, delivered on time, beautiful packaging and even personal touches of a Rachel Ashwell hand written card, pink tulle and a ‘Congratulations’ bow. Thanks Kimber! :)”

Next we have Theresa’s Plants and More. “So many things are missed by many when they walk in the woods. Many can not even go to the woods to see things like this. That is why I LOVE to be able to share this bit of paradise with others via the web. I love to share my nature creations in the terrariums and selling the moss allows others to start their own mossy yard or make their own terrariums.” “Obviously, I can’t get enough of this. Thank you, Teresa. You’re the best! Everyone comments on my beautiful terrariums!” I agree, I just can’t get enough of Teresa’s amazing work. I definitely plan to use some of these items for my own wedding.

Ad a bit of whimsy to your special day with Pickled Parlor. “Your one stop AFFORDABLE shop for Pinwheels, hand crafted mobiles, Heart Garlands, hand held pinwheels, cupcake toppers, photo props, embellishments, gift bags, bows, and the cutest party favors you will find. All of my items are hand crafted by me using only top quality designer card stock.” “It was WONDERFUL to work with Kelli! She was super responsive, and finished a very large order of pinwheels for me quickly! Her pinwheels arrived yesterday perfectly packed and in great shape. They are better then I could have imagined!”

Next is Pom Love. “I try to incorporate my love of design and color into everything that I make and I hope that is evident as you become familiar with PomLove. I find inspiration daily. I’m so lucky to live in a city that is a constant source of inspiration. In a nutshell: I love what I do.” “These are the CUTEST! I am love with the Stemmed mini poms & will be doing these more often for centerpieces – replacing flowers, they are GREAT!! Thank you POM LOVE! you are my fave!”

Here we have CBC Designs, “I love everything about weddings. The love, the food, but especially the decor. I love helping brides create the perfect wedding.” “Love my bird cage. Thanks so much!”

Next we have Cow Country Creations who make beautiful signs in custom colors to coordinate with your color scheme. “Love this banner- can’t wait to use it at my wedding! Great communication with seller and fast shipping!” “It was exactly what I wanted and more! The colors for the ribbons are perfect! Thanks so much! :)”

Our next vendor might be a little familiar as she was featured in the Littlest Attendant section of the show, Floral Accents. “Floral designer and independent business owner for 15 years specializing in the design of custom floral arrangements. The real touch and silk flowers are of excellent quality and very beautiful.” “I absolutely LOVED my vases and can’t wait to see them on the tables at my reception 🙂 I will send you a picture. Thanks so much, it was wonderful to work with you.”

Next we have Lazy Caterpillar. “Designed to celebrate every season of your life with bunting, banners, garland, signs, streamers, and gifts for your wedding, shower, party, nursery, home decor and more.” “This banner was so sweet and personal and made my best friend’s bachelorette and bridal shower weekend beautiful. You could tell the handmade love that went into making it. It arrived quickly and on time. It was the special little touch that this special weekend needed. Everyone ooed and ahhed when they saw it!”

Another shop previously featured (Bouquets) is New Hampshire Woods Creations. “NH Woods Creation started as a part time business for me. Over the past few years it has grown to a full time occupation for both my husband and I. We work as a team, he spends most of his time riding around the back roads of NH looking for birch bark and moss. My experience as a floral designer and his as a carpenter works beautifully together. I design the piece and he figures out a way to construct it better and faster.” “Once again my entire order is PERFECT! Everything is BEAUTIFUL and smells SO GOOD! I have special ordered dried arrangements from Allison before and I have never been disappointed. The quality and uniqueness of her work is exceptional! She is the best and sweetest person to work with. I highly recommend her! I’ve given many of her items as gifts and everyone loves them:-)”

Simple Block Sayings has a unique and beautiful approach to wedding signs. “Thank you so much they are even cuter than the photos! You did a wonderful job on them! Thank you so so much! I really really appreciate you changing the design for me and being so wonderful during the whole process!”

Our next shop is Nancy by Kate Greiner. “Quickly created me a custom listing and shipped right away. Wonderful quality. Love the shop and the decorations.”

Here we have Madam Manzanita. “They are beautiful! Amazing! I love them all. Secure package and fast shipment. Great communication. Thank you so much.”

Bride’s Best Friend is the online store for South Carolina Wedding Co. “South Carolina Wedding Co has been awarded the 2011 Bride’s Choice award by Wedding Wire. Thank you to all my brides! It is a honor to be a part of your special day!! Check it out we have been featured in Desi Bride Magazine: http://desibridemagazine.com/group/sabndiybrides/forum/topics/diy-mandaps.” “I am so very happy that I found this seller on ETSY to help make my future daughter in law’s wedding a beautiful and memorable one, from the Canopy I had purchased previously which was awesome, to the floral items purchased afterwards that were everything promised. This seller demonstrates integrity, creativity, competence and absolute pursuit of making the buyer happy. I am a very happy buyer. Thank you!”

Finally we have Succulent Designs. Succulents are a major wedding trend that I believe will become a wedding design staple as we all gravitate towards being more eco friendly. When I came across this shop, I just had to put it in the show as the designs are very well done. “I have been an avid container gardener for over 35 years, with a particular passion for designing with succulents. Now that I am retired and our children are grown and out of the nest, I’m blessed to be with my husband of 30 years and our beloved dogs on a stunning piece of acreage in the mountain foothills in our great southwest. I grow hundreds of succulent plants, sedum, cacti, and herbs here, and have been designing and creating succulent wreaths for a number of years. It is such a joy to be able to supplement our retirement income with something that brings me joy and fulfillment, and to bring beauty to others as well.” “I love these cute little plants! I plan on purchasing more as wedding favors!”