Wedding Wednesday: Japanese Garden Inspiration

One of my absolute favorite places to go to in San Diego, is the Japanese Friendship Garden in Balboa Park. Once upon a time, there was a tea house in that spot that was built in 1914 for the 1915 Panama-California Exposition. It remained a functioning tea house until it was dismantled in 1941. In August 1990, the Japanese Friendship Garden was built to honor the memory of the original tea house. It currently holds exhibitions and you can get a bite to eat and sip some tea to cap off your visit to this gorgeous spot.

For some reason, this spot was on my mind today as I was talking to my kiddo about where I grew up. The topic of my many trips to Balboa Park came up and I mentioned the garden (which wasn’t there when I was a kid, but I did stop off at during a conference I was attending). It’s a lovely spot and the inspiration for today’s Wedding Wednesday.

Japanese inspired DIY Favors:
Spicy Asian Brittle (if you leave out the red pepper flakes, the brittle will be more in line with Japanese cuisine)
Origami Butterfly
Washi Tape Votive Candle
DIY Washi Tape Favor Wrap

Japanese Inspired Garden Wedding

Leave a Reply

