Theme Thursday: Midwinter Night’s Dream

Today’s Theme Thursday is inspired by the glitter and fantasy of the Winter season. I love waking up to see the city blanketed in snow aka nature’s glitter. We’ve had a bit of an unusual start to Winter here in Denver with a week of alternating snow and sunshine. The extra snow has really awakened my spirit and made me appreciate living in a place where we get to experience seasons. Growing up in San Diego, I’d watch all the holiday specials wondering when our snow was coming.

Since moving to Colorado almost 11 years ago, I have never regretted the move. When it snows, I’m like a little kid ready to create my snowball arsenal for a friendly snowball fight with my kiddo and I have no shame in dropping to the ground to create snow angels. That’s me in the pic below.

If you’re planning a Winter wedding or any sort of Winter fete, I encourage you to make it as dreamy as possible. Think ice sculpted to look like crystals, tons of white candles scattered amongst ice blue accoutrement, and white trees dripping with glitter. For favors, little mason jar snow globes decorated to invoke that Midwinter Night’s Dream you have provided for your guests. I hope today’s post inspires you to create your own Winter dreamland. Here’s a great drink recipe to put you in that Winter mood:

Winter Wonderland Martini

Ingredients:

2 oz Van Gogh Vanilla Vodka

1 oz White crème de cacao

2 oz White chocolate liqueur

1 oz Cream

½ Teaspoon of coconut flakes

1 White chocolate wafer stick

Directions:
Add the vanilla vodka, white chocolate liqueur, crème de cacao and cream into a shaker and shake over ice. Strain martini into a martini glass and add half a teaspoon of coconut flakes. Stir martini gently with white chocolate wafer stick to create a blizzard! -http://singlemindedwomen.com/food-and-wine/holiday-cocktails-winter-wonderland-martini/#

Garland: http://www.flickr.com/photos/galbraith/3080127707/

Midwinter Night's Dream

One response to “Theme Thursday: Midwinter Night’s Dream

  1. Great picture of you making an angel. We can not wait to see you all again! I do miss snow. Hey, just found out I am able to donate blood even with taking my medicine since it is synthetic. I will be doing that soon. I love the winter look. Especially ice and the frosted/salted jars. Love, Sandy

Leave a Reply

