Wedding Wednesday: Real Wedding: Tana Marie and Bear’s Handfasting

Today’s post is my first real wedding feature and I hope to bring you more as I solicit them. This one is very special to me as the couple is near and dear to my heart: my good friend and ex-husband, Bear, and his wonderful fiancee and one of my bridesmaids, Tana Marie. Yes, you read that right. I am blessed to have such a great relationship with them and we admit to being a very healthy and unconventional family and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

I was set to plan their wedding when they decided to have a handfasting to make spiritual commitments to one another. They planned most of it on their own until a major snafu presented itself the day before the event. Bear had driven by the park where the festivities were to take place and the grove of trees where they planned the ceremony was fenced off in bright orange and construction had begun in and around the grove. I got a frantic phone call to see what I could do and sprung in to action.

I set off for the park and found another location- sigh of relief. I knew that Tana Marie and Bear wanted things like decoration, but the budget just wasn’t there. So, I gathered up a bit of my milk glass collection and set to making centerpieces from silk flowers I had on hand. Then, I headed to the local party store and got the makings for a candy bar (something they wanted, but was a bit cost prohibited), which was a big hit at the reception. The reception was a potluck affair and there was so much great food and great fun. It just goes to show you that no matter what your budget is, you can have an intimate and memorable event.

Here are a few pics from the day and I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. Thanks to Eric Murphy of Piscean Dreams Photography for permission to publish.


Left to right and top to bottom: The beautiful bride with her mother. Bridal party. Groom. Bride. Laying flowers at the monument. Me spreading petals. Groom’s party.


Left to right and top to bottom: Last minute centerpiece. Exchanging of rings. Giving of gifts to one another. Officiant and good friend of the family (my son’s adoptive grandma), Audrey. Fairy girl (instead of a flower girl). Handfasting cord. Blessing of the cord.


Left to right and top to bottom: Silliness with Jackie. Lovely moment. Cutting the cake. Kisses. Walking to the reception area. Me (red hair) hugging the bride and groom. Hugs from guests. Portrait.

This pic sums it all up: fun loving, silly, surrounded by family, metal, heathen, and all around good time.

Venue: Babi Yar Park in Denver, CO
Photography: Eric Murphy of Piscean Dreams Photography
Coordinator/Planner: Kristen Sherman, Parties by Kristen

4 responses to “Wedding Wednesday: Real Wedding: Tana Marie and Bear’s Handfasting

  1. great pictures, everyone looks so happy. What a beautiful ceremony!

  2. Just saw this on fb. Wanted to say great job on the article and congratulations on your upcoming wedding.

Leave a Reply

