Saturday Surprise: My Vintage Engagement Ring

After my fiance proposed, we began looking for an engagement ring that suited my style. After a couple of months, just when I thought we had found the one, it just didn’t feel right. Sure, they were beautiful, but I couldn’t stop thinking about how neat it would be to wear my mom’s engagement ring. It was something that kept creeping up, but I didn’t know if I should ask my dad about it. He had just lost the love of his life who he was married to for 47 1/2 years. Would I be selfish if I asked?

After talking to my fiance and my sister about it, both of them encouraged me to ask my dad about the ring and I did. My dad reacted in true dad fashion, “Yep.” So, when I went out to CA for my mom’s memorial service, I was given her engagement ring along with her wedding band.

My engagement ring. It was my mother’s that she wore for 48 years. Dad bought the engagement ring, wedding band, and his wedding band as a set from the Navy PX in 1963. She and my dad were married 47 1/2 years when my mom passed at the end of March. I couldn’t be happier that my dad chose to give her rings and his ring to my fiance and me. It’s nice to have a part of her that I will have with me every day.

2 responses to “Saturday Surprise: My Vintage Engagement Ring

  1. What a wonderful gift from your father (and sister) and what a wonderful way to honor your parent’s love. You made me cry!

  2. Audrey, I certainly am blessed to have had such an amazing mother and to have the best dad in the world. Their love is definitely an example I strive to achieve.

Leave a Reply

