A New to Me Cake Designer- Lorinda Seto

While perusing the vast reaches of the Internet for inspiration board items, I came across several cakes by Lorinda Seto. Lorinda is an award winning cake artist who does some of the most amazing fondant work I’ve ever seen.

“After graduating with an Arts/Law degree from the University of Sydney, I practiced as a commercial lawyer for a number of years before decamping to London where I worked at one of the world’s largest law firms. Upon returning to Australia, I worked in the criminal law and justice sector.

Yet I was convinced that there was unrealized creative potential within me and longed to find an outlet to channel my passion, whatever that might be. Some of those near and dear to me suggested that I was mad to quit law. But my heart wasn’t in it, and when a friend who knew how much I liked baking entrusted me to make her wedding cake, I discovered that a cake was not simply flour, butter and eggs. It was an art form with sugar as the medium! I was hooked on the process of making something really beautiful from scratch, which was entirely edible. Less than two years after taking up a piping bag, I won my first prize in the Sydney Royal Easter Show.

My distinctive hallmark is the mastery of traditional cake decorating techniques such as piping, lace work and fondant appliqué to create modern and spectacular edible works of art. Inspired by textiles, homewares, interior design, beautiful typography, stationery, vintage chic and nature, I love to make original customised celebration cakes, from intricate romantic piped designs made to resemble fine lace, to bold and whimsical contemporary centrepieces.”
http://www.cakesbylorinda.com.au/

Lorinda Seto » Big Cakes
cakesbylorinda.com.au


Lorinda Seto » Big Cakes
cakesbylorinda.com.au


Lorinda Seto » Big Cakes
cakesbylorinda.com.au


Lorinda Seto » Cupcakes
cakesbylorinda.com.au


Lorinda Seto » Cupcakes
cakesbylorinda.com.au


Lorinda Seto » Big Cakes
cakesbylorinda.com.au


Leave a Reply

