Welcome Home Soldier

I sit here in my non-air-conditioned home and despite the blessing of a roof over my head and sleeping next to the one I love every day, I still complain. I have friends who have spouses on deployment or are on deployment themselves who don’t get that privilege right now, but they are sacrificing so I have that blessing. As a Navy Brat, I know what it’s like to wait for a loved one to return. I remember making and holding up signs for my Dad and trying to find him on the deck of the ship as it pulled in. My Dad knows what it is like to get shipped out for 18 months and leave a newly pregnant wife behind and not getting to lay his eyes on his new baby until she was 9 months old. I recall neighbors making signs out of a simple white sheet on which they expressed their love and excitement for their solider/sailor who has come back to them. This set honors our military and the sacrifices they have made.

Leave a Reply

